It’s 3 AM and the fun never stops at the Gabrysch household

January 13, 2011 — Leave a comment

My girlfriend is curled up on the couch with a book. She’s desperately trying to stay warm. It’s about 29 degrees outside and we live in an old drafty house. The living room is barely heated by a large, old-school gas heater set into a fake fireplace. I’m writing a blog right now after a rousing discussion about taxes with my brother. I’m enjoying a New Castle, which would seem nice and cold under normal circumstances, but right now only seems slightly below room temperature. Which is, truth be told, an easily accomplished feat when you consider that room temperature in this house is about 55 degrees if you’re not standing directly in front of a space heater.

The only sound is music from my brother’s room, the hiss of the gas heater, and the tapping of my laptop’s keys.

It’s still early January, and so much has already happened. We just approved the second proof of Twit Publishing Presents: PULP! Winter/Spring 2011 yesterday. Everything is good to go on the print edition. I just need to lay out the ebook now. We also ordered the posters and flyers for our upcoming book release party (January 31st at The Libertine Bar in Dallas, Texas).

Chris Gabrysch designed this. He is a man of many talents.

Davin Kimble, an author featured in both releases of TPPP, will be doing a reading. He’s the author of “A Remarkable Picture” in the first PULP!, and the author of “The Truth About Michael Mallory”, in the second. Chris and I are stoked to see a second reading by one of our authors.

It’s freaking exciting, OK?

We also submitted something for the Staple! program, which is a handout that’s given free of charge to everyone that enters the convention. It’s our first convention, and this is free advertising, so it’s a pretty big deal. So, needless to say, we stayed locked up in one of the rooms of the house for six or seven hours.

I think I was about to kill Chris during the writing of it. You see, I’m a writer. I have a writer’s mentality when it comes to copy-writing. Chris is an editor. He, unfortunately, has an editor’s mentality when it comes to copy-writing. If we ever agree right off the bat on something, the end times will be nigh. Seriously, you’re all screwed. Four Horsemen. Everything hitting the fan. Death. Pestilence. Proper grammar.

And, we’re officially registered for All-Con, which is happening in mid-march. It’s going to be a busy month. Also, during the posting of this, my heart skipped a beat. Like, seriously, this just made my fucking night: Our web banner is up on the all-con website. I’ve been checking every 3 or 4 hours since I submitted the damn thing, and it’s finally up. I peed myself a little bit. After I’m finished posting this, I’m going to jump around my living room and annoy the downstairs neighbors some.

My girlfriend is happy for me too. She’s falling asleep on the couch in joy. I can tell by the way she’s nodding off excitedly.

So, what else do I have?

Oh!

We’re officially accepting submissions for our 3rd anthology. You can find details here.

And DON’T FORGET! Only 18 days till Twit Publishing Presents: PULP! Winter/Spring 2011‘s release!

Till the next time, everyone!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

