A few updates on this June morning

June 3, 2011 — 1 Comment

So, tomorrow (June 4th) we’ll be at The Difference Engine, a steampunk convention in Fort Worth. This is the first year, the table was cheap, and I’m sure it’ll have a decent turnout. My only regret about the convention is that I won’t be able to experience it. Because, honestly, it’s not a conventional convention. It’s more like a one day performance art piece based around a murder mystery.

I also really want to check out the panel discussion on Dieselpunk. Think steampunk, but post-world war I to World War II era (leaning heavily towards the Roarin’ 20s).

My favorite part is that the convention/event is actually named the The Difference Engine. I’ve met a lot of people lately that love steampunk but don’t even know about the book that really got the ball rolling. It’s sort of like meeting a kid who likes punk, but has never listened to the Sex Pistols, The Clash, or The Ramones.

In further news:

  • We’ve submitted our third anthology for a proof copy. Hopefully, we can get the book in today so Chris has something to do during downtime at the convention.
  • Submissions are open for the fourth anthology (Winter/Spring 2012). Deadline is 8/31/11. Guidelines are here.
  • We’ve finished the cover and are beginning layout on our first novel (due out Octoberish). I’ll post the cover and a brief synopsis when everything is wrapped up.
  • We’ve secured Notes on Falling, and will soon be prepping that for rerelease December.

I think that’s all I have. As you can tell, I’ve been a little too busy for blogging. Which really sucks. I kind of enjoy this.

As we get more updates on the third anthology, you guys will be the first to know.

One response to A few updates on this June morning

  1. 

    THE DIFFERENCE ENGINE should be required reading for any true steampunk fans. Good luck at the convention. Take some pics!

Leave a Reply

